About me

Linnea_OwletteI was born in Seattle WA in 1988. My parents moved back to northern PA in 1990 where I grew up and attended school until 5th grade. I began visiting Finland with my father when I was about 9 and I officially moved to southern Finland in 8th grade to attend school in Swedish. This was possible because I am bi-lingual and fluent in both Swedish and English. I continued to live in Finland and graduated from Ekenäs High School in the spring of 2007.

Studies
I began studying at the University of Helsinki in the autumn of 2007 with a major in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology and a minor in Media and Communication. I completed my bachelor’s studies during the spring of 2012. During the 2009-2010 academic year I also studied abroad in Tromsø, Norway. In autumn 2014 I began studying a 3 year Master’s degree program in Science Communication and Public Engagement offered through part-time distance study from the University of Edinburgh.

Current work
Since November 2018 I have been working at UiT The Arctic University of Norway, at the University Library. I am working in the public services department as the Head of the Communications Group where I manage a team of more than 30 people working at 11 different libraries. My main focus is to continue to develop onsite library services such as info desks and group working spaces. I am also in charge of improving the website, developing social media strategies, and promoting and developing other digital tools so that students and teachers have the best possible access to resources and information.

Past work
In October 2011 I began working for the Arctic Council Secretariat (ACS) in Tromsø, Norway. At the ACS my main tasks were to design, update, and maintain the Arctic Council website. I was also actively involved in other communications activities such as event coordination, social media management, photography, and graphic design.

I have always been passionate about nature and gardening and before I moved abroad to Norway I helped my father with Henrik’s Garden, his small organic market garden and ecological lodging enterprise which is located on an island in the archipelago outside Ekenäs. Besides that I also worked as a journalist for a local Swedish daily paper called Västra Nyland and as a substitute teacher in biology, chemistry, and English. I have taught students ranging from 13 to 18.

My career plan has always been to work within the field of scientific communication, both in terms of writing educational material and designing websites and apps as teaching tools.

Hobbies
During my free time my hobbies include long distance running, horse-back riding, volunteering at the local cat shelter, photography, cooking delicious vegetarian dishes and reading heavy hard-cover books. I also volunteer for WordCamp Nordic and Tromsø Dyrebeskyttelsen.

Interested in knowing more about me? Download my CV

 


 CONTACT INFORMATION

Residence: Tromsø, Norway

E-mail: contact(at)linneanordstrom(dot)com

Skype: snowyowl88(at)gmail(dot)com

Mobile: +4790966629

You can also find me on Facebook